Sea of Reads

Peripatetic, itinerant, eclectic musings about books, politics, history, language, culture, and anything else that interests me.

Second Time Around

So, I’m reading this book by David Crystal called The Stories of English, and I’m loving it. And that’s strange, because I started to read this book a couple of years ago, and I could not get past the first chapter. It bored me. Now, I’m enthralled.

This same thing happened when I picked up W.E.B. Du Bois: The Fight for Equality and the American Century, 191901963, by David Levering Lewis, a few months ago. I had bought the book when it first came out, and could not get through it. I tried again this last time, and I could not put it down.

This is sort of the opposite of when you reread a book because you loved it so much the first time you read it. This is trying to read, again, a book you could not get interested in the first time, and liking it so much you’re wondering what was your problem with it before..

I wonder if anyone else has had this experience.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 11, 2011 by in Reading Life.
