Sea of Reads

Peripatetic, itinerant, eclectic musings about books, politics, history, language, culture, and anything else that interests me.

That Book You Can Never Forget

For this reader, it’s Victor Hugo’s Les Miserables.

The one book (besides the Bible) that I can and have read over and over is Les Miserables by Victor Hugo. I read it for the first time when I was about 14.

You might wonder how I came to read it for the first time… it isn’t exactly something you hear American teenagers raving about.

At the time, I was taking piano lessons in a quaint little backwoods town. Right down the street from my piano teacher’s house was one of the most fascinating libraries I have ever been in. It was located inside an old house and most of the books were antiques. When you wanted to check out a book, all you did was sign your name in a spiral bound notebook and write your phone number.

One summer afternoon as I explored the wonderfully spicy aged smelling stacks, I stumbled across a copy of Les Miserable divided into five hardbound volumes that looked old enough to be the very first English translation.

I started reading on the way home and as our [car?] sped down the winding mountain roads, I fell in love with the story of the man named Jean Valjean.

Obviously, one can also learn to write beautifully from beautifully written books, as well.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 11, 2010 by in Bloggers, Reading Life.
