Sea of Reads

Peripatetic, itinerant, eclectic musings about books, politics, history, language, culture, and anything else that interests me.

Things My Father Used To Say

The soup is never as hot as it’s boiled.

A watched pot never boils.

Necessity is the mother of invention.

I am human; nothing human is alien to me.

You’ll feel better before you’re a little boy.

My father’s clichés were comforting to me — especially the last two.

But maybe that was because he was my father. My former mother-in-law spoke in clichés all the time, and it drove me crazy. That was because she drove me crazy.

Anyway. Here are the 10 overused expressions that people find most annoying, according to researchers at Oxford University.

1 – At the end of the day

2 – Fairly unique

3 – I personally

4 – At this moment in time

5 – With all due respect

6 – Absolutely

7 – It’s a nightmare

8 – Shouldn’t of

9 – 24/7

10 – It’s not rocket science

Which ones get your goat?

One comment on “Things My Father Used To Say

  1. Chief
    February 8, 2009

    # 5 – With all due respect.

    Whenever I use it it is because the other person is a dufus and I am not intending to show any respect.

    And I tend to use it a lot.

    # 9 – 24/7

    I never use it.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 7, 2009 by in Language.
